The Islamic Post Blog


Letter to the Editor: Muslim American Patriotism by Khalida
December 1, 2008, 12:55 am
Filed under: December Volume 1 - 2008, Interfaith, National | Tags:

Yes, you can be Muslim, and American, and love being both. There is no separation.
The religion of Al Islam is growing at such a magnitude in America; and many have been questioned about their patriotism. I am an American through and through. I am the descendent of Native Americans and Africans who were enslaved in this great country, and later fought for their freedom to live peacefully in this country. So, to even consider making a distinction between being Muslim and American is an insult.  I love my country, and my ancestors have helped build this country. I find it hard to believe that my religion, Al Islam, and my love for Allah and the Holy Last Messenger, Muhammad (peace be upon him and his family) would prevent me from loving my country.
The election campaign brought this question up time and time again; however, I think Colin Powell summed it up in his interview with Tom Brokaw on Meet the Press. Gen. Powell responded to the question surrounding the religion of the now president-elect, Senator Barack Obama. “He’s always been a Christian.  But really, the right answer is, ‘What if he is [Muslim]?’  Is there something wrong with being a Muslim in this country? The answer is no; that’s not America.  Is there something wrong with some seven-year-old Muslim-American kid believing that he or she could be president?”
My response when hearing this was: “Thank you, I am happy this has been said.”
This notion of questioning any American about their patriotism is wrong, regardless if they are Muslim, Christian, or any other religion. We are all American and proud to be! -Hanifah Begum, NC

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

